Take This to Your Grave by Fall Out Boy

For a long time, music has played a huge role in my life. Not that I possess the knowledge or know-how to dive into the specifics or technical aspects of the songs that I hear. I do, however, feel that I have a pretty good ear and can readily identify music of value or substance. I can clearly recall the first time I heard ‘Chicago Is So Two Years Ago’ by Fall Out Boy. I was playing with some friends at a local tennis court when I started listening to one of their mp3 players. Everything about the song immediately hit me: the melody, the strong punk rock instrumentation, and the vivid lyrics. I went home, researched the band, and ended up finding an album that I still consider to be my favorite of all time.

Have I found more talented artists or better constructed albums since? Without a doubt, I have. Be that as it may, this does not seem to change the fact that Take This to Your Grave can still stir something within me that very few (if any) albums can. Perhaps it will forever be associated with nostalgic days of happiness, when I was able to enjoy life as a teenager with little responsibility and an unbound passion for discovering new musical artists. Whatever the reason, this album will always hold a special place in my heart.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

