Childish Gambino

I have been familiar with Donald Glover (aka Childish Gambino) since the debut of Community, but I was not aware of his talent as a rapper, singer, and producer (beyond the goofy raps he delivers with Danny Pudi on the show). Considering the fact that I just started listening to Childish Gambino today, some might consider a post premature. I have already come across a number of tracks that I really enjoy, so I figure why not share and continue to research.

Childish Gambino holds an arsenal of weapons to slay beats, namely a strong lyrical sense (e.g. Kanye) and the ability to sing R&B (e.g. Drake). The beat on ‘Bonfire’ reminds me a bit of the production on Kanye’s ‘Power’ (tba: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy), but Gambino’s raspy delivery is all his own. ‘Got This Money’ uses a variety of instruments and sounds, including a nice guitar riff, what sounds like a xylophone, and a dance-worthy electronic beat. Because I am just getting to know this artist, I would love to hear some more opinions about how you think he compares to other rappers.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

