My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy by Kanye West

Let me start off by saying that I am not a fan of Kanye West as a person. Though I have never met him, he presents himself as an arrogant, selfish, egotistical jerk (insert additional profanities here: i.e. douche, jackass, etc.). It’s much the same with one of my all-time favorite artists, John Mayer. Is John Mayer an unbelievably gifted guitarist (perhaps the greatest of our generation) and singer? Definitely. Did he make a comment about his dick having racist tendencies (likening it to a KKK member)? Unfortunately, he did..

While it can be hard to separate the artist from the person, talent is talent. John Mayer is a guitar god and Kanye West is a hip-hop hero, and I consider them both geniuses in their respective genres. Kanye West is without exception my favorite rapper of the current day and age, and this is why:

  1. He is honest, intelligent, and a lyrical mastermind.
  2. He is a very talented producer, shown in the quality of his albums.
  3. He has played a huge role in redefining the hip-hop genre, as becomes clear after listening to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

I have loved each of Kanye’s hip-hop releases (808’s and Heartbreak, in my opinion, was more R&B or Pop). College Dropout was an honest, brilliant record. Late Registration and Graduation started exploring more refined production with the expanded influence of various genres (featured artists such as Adam Levine, Chris Martin, and John Mayer). My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the culmination of Kanye West’s creative power.

The very first time I heard this record through, I was absolutely blown away. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is made up of huge beats, huge names, and huge quality. Tracks are beautifully composed, and a multitude of instruments add substance to some very memorable tracks. From the strings and horns in ‘All of the Lights’ to the piano in ‘Blame Game,’ Kanye shows an affinity for various genres of music. I absolutely love that Kanye brought in artists like Kid Cudi, John Legend, Rick Ross, Big Sean (slays on bonus track ‘See Me Now’–see below), and Bon Iver.

My only criticism: I can’t say this album features Kanye at his absolute best lyrically (don’t get me wrong, he is still really good). One thing is for sure… The product as a whole is remarkable!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy by Kanye West

  1. Classic album. Nice post.

  2. Adam Mitchell says:

    Good article. Personally, I love Kanye West; as a person as much as an artist. His personality comes across as arrognce but this is mainly down to his determination and tenasity to achieve big things. He’s obviously very confident but its almost as though his demeanour is tring to protect his far more emotional and self-consciouss inner self; as displayed on all of his LP’s, to an extent, thus far. Our blog has loads of reviews and articles that you might like reading, would you mind? 🙂 http://constructivecriticisms.wordpress.com/

    • You make some excellent points. I definitely agree with you that there’s somewhat of an inner-struggle with Kanye and the type of person he wants to be. I really appreciate the comment! I’ll check out your stuff ASAP.

Leave a Reply

